Jesse Malin

“When an idea hits me, I don’t want to lose the moment… with the H4, I never do.”

Check out Jesse’s latest release: “Glitter in the Gutter”

Jesse Malin Bio:

Malin began his music career, at the age of 16, as the front-man for the seminal New York City hardcore band Heart Attack. Following their demise in 1983, Jesse worked on several other projects, including the band Hope, before forming glam punk band, D Generation, for which he was the lead singer for eight years.

As one of New York City’s most noted bands of 1990s, the band released three albums, including No Lunch before eventually disbanding in April 1999.

Being a fan of Neil Young, Tom Waits and Steve Earle affected his work; he spent the next few years working on a fresh sound. Former Wiskeytown front-man Ryan Adams, who’d been a friend of Malin since the D Generation days, was impressed with Malin’s new material. Adams offered to produce Malin’s debut album. The two headed into Loho Studios in New York in January 2001 and made an album in just six days. A deal with Artemis Records soon followed. The Fine Art of Self Destruction appeared in the United Kingdom in October 2002; lead off first single, “Queen of the Underworld” was a moderate hit and the British press quickly hailed Malin’s debut as one of the year’s best.

Stateside fans were eventually able to purchase the album “The Fine Art of Self-Destruction’ in January 2003. Tour dates followed, both in America and the United Kingdom. Malin contributed to two cover albums, first he covered “Hungry Heart” for Light of Day: A Tribute to Bruce Springsteen, and then he recorded a cover of The Clash’s “Death Or Glory” on the tribute White Riot Vol. 2: A Tribute to The Clash. He also picked up a nomination for the Shortlist Music Prize.By November of 2003 he was back in the studio recording tracks his second album, The Heat, which was released in June 2004, accompanied by a string of tour dates on both sides of the Atlantic.

Malin has also collaborated with Ryan Adams to form the band The Finger (the pair adopted the pseudonyms “Irving Plaza” and “Warren Peace” respectively) who released two EPs which were later collected into the album We Are F—- You.

Malin’s newest album Glitter in the Gutter was released on March 20, 2007. It featured a cover of The Replacements’ “Bastards of Young” and a duet with Bruce Springsteen on “Broken Radio.” A music video was also made to accompany “Broken Radio.” You can see the video and hear music by Jesse Malin at